My First Halloween

29 10 2010

Yesterday, I had my first Halloween celebration :). In Malta we do not really celebrate this day. It is only nowadays that this feast is catching on, particularly with young children in the posher areas of the island. However here in Ireland things seem to be quite different. For the past 4 weeks (since I arrived) I have been seeing decorations in stores, house windows, shops etc. However I was not planning to do anything to celebrate…how do you do it? And on your own to boot.

However, the Biological Research Society at DCU has been in the process of organising a Halloween Party. Although Halloween is actually this weekend, as with most things at DCU, it was organised yesterday. Here most of the students go home at the weekend and so it does make much sense to organise things then.

I had been wanting to go (a bit). But what should I wear? And I did not want to go on my own. Ross, from my lab had said he wanted to go, and so I knew I would have had someone I knew there :). But what should I wear? I did not want to go in normal clothes…they were giving out prizes and one was for the saddest costume…I did not want to get that :S…I enlisted the help of my sister, and her boyfriend suggested dressing up as a cat….hmmmm. I thought about it and I liked the idea 🙂 So yesterday saw me being transformed into a cat (I did not want to buy any costumes…and a black cat sounded easy enough).

Here am I in all my glory as a cat 🙂

Me as a Cat

Me as a Cat

 So I got ready and went over to pick up Ross and his friend (she was his apartment mate, but now has left DCU and is back in Ireland for the week as next week is graduation), and off we went to the pub/bar. Everyone (or nearly everyone) was dressed up. The place was decorated really nicely…congrats to the organising committee.

I actually had a great night out. The company was good, the atmosphere was great…no complaints there 🙂 And for those who were wondering…a guy dressed as Santa got the saddest costume…he was just too early!

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 10 2010
annmucc

LOL! Santa 🙂

1 11 2010
mari008

miaw ^^ xx

1 11 2010
ceciliafenech

Miao purrrrrrrrrr

Leave a Reply

