Doctor Visits

5 11 2010

For the past few days I have not been feeling all that well. Earlier on in the week I therefore started taking some off the counter medicines which Dr Brincat ordered, and also went to figure out how to attend the health clinic at University. Well, the nurse saw me and gave me a quick check up. She told me that I had an inflamed throat but nothing seems so bad. So she registered me with the clinic and told me to come back if I keep feeling sick.

Yesterday the guy sitting next to me in the lab (Ross) left after a doctor’s visit (another doctor, not the Uni one cos he has said that it takes up to a week to get an appointment apparently). Last night I was feeling a bit worse, and in fact after Uni I just went into bed and watched Grey’s anatomy episodes (no complaints).

However, especially since the weekend is coming, I did not know if I would have to wait for a week for an appointment etc, this morning I went to the health clinic at Uni, and asked for an appointment. The receptionist asked if I was willing to see the doctor then, and I said sure. 10 minutes later I was next to the doctor (faster than in Malta 🙂 so no complaints).

Apparently I have a viral infection. The doctor said that it takes around 7-10 days to clear and days 4-5 are the worst. So it seems that I am in the worst part. She also prescribed antibiotics just in case things get worse during the weekend, however I have not started taking them yet. Sticking with Dr Brincat’s prescription for now :). The doctor was really quite nice. We had a chat about my research as well and she sounded interested in what I am doing.

The nice thing at the end? The doctor’s consultation is free. This is what I found strange. Irish residents need to pay Eur 10 for a consultation at the Uni clinic for students or around Eur 60 for other GPs. However since I have a European Health ID Card it is free for me (although not for Irish with an EHIC). I am not complaining…not at all…but I found it a bit strange.

Well I am still on Dr Brincat’s prescription, but not doing too bad. Will see how it goes 🙂

The doctor was nice...so I send her this card as well :)

The doctor was nice...so I send her this card as well 🙂

Actions

Information

One response

6 11 2010
mari008

Get well soon dear! I’m sickish too and it’s the weekend 😦 Boohoo 😥

Leave a Reply

