A Night Out In

6 02 2011

Yesterday I had a night out, where I actually went in šŸ™‚ Hmmm…that sounds complicated. Well, it was a night out, but I stayed inside. Why? Because Zahra, the other girl on the ATWARM PhD programme in our lab, invited me over to her house for the evening. She had been softly inviting me for some time now, but I never really wanted to suggest it myself. Well, last Friday after Uni she said it again, and so yesterday morning we chatted a bit and somehow got around to the invitation. Zahra told me to go with my tummy empty and be prepared to eat. Hmmm no complaints about that. Therefore yesterday at 5pm saw me going to her place. I bought an apple pie on the way (yes I know…crappy present) and off I was.

We did not get around to doing much, but got around to doing plenty. I have missed such nights out, where you go to someone’s place, and just eat, chat and have a good time. The only other time I did that in Dublin was when I had the movie night with Monika. These are the best evening. No stress, no dressing up. Just lounging around. It was Zahra, her husband, and myself. Unfortunately other people from the lab had gone home for the weekend, since they are Irish and so they could not make it.

So what did we get up to? We chatted, watched youtube videos of Malta and Iran, and a couple of Iranian and Maltese music (I showed them some Wintermoods, Sammy Bartolo, Freddie Portelli, the Malta…Truly Mediterranean videos and a couple of others). I really liked the Iranian music too (although I could not understand most of it hihi). Ā I also got to see parts of Zahra and Ali’s wedding video, and continued to confirm that Iranian girls are BEAUTIFUL.

As promised Zahra had cooked a big dinner of Iranian food. We had (OK not the actual titles, but you can get the idea) some rice with herbs, nuts and potatoes, lamb with sauce, chicken, mushrooms, sort of meat andĀ potatoĀ burgers and some salad. Yes lots of food I tell you (and all this after the nibbles at the beginning). We also had ice-cream for dinner.

Suddenly without knowing I looked at the time and noticed how much time had passed…time flies when you are having fun :). So I got to leave, but the ever gracious Ali and Zahra walked me to my apartment. It was a nice walk. After the earlier rain, the air was clear. Just the smell of burning wood in the air. We said our good byes and they left.

I look forward to another such an evening. Thank you Zahra and Ali.

Bia Baghalan (hope I wrote it correctly)

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 02 2011
Iranian dancing?!? « My Commentary…

[…] wedding movie and have heard some Iranian music when I went to her house earlier on in the month. The music really get you moving, and I decided what’s the worst that could happen apart from […]

27 03 2011
Happy Birthday Zahra :) « My Commentary…

[…] outside my apartment building (since I was the only one who knew where she lived, having been there before). I got dressed (bought a new dress in the morning, when I was shopping with Monika…was not […]

Leave a Reply

