Eurovision 2011

15 05 2011

Yesterday the final of the 2011 Eurovision song contest was held in Duesseldorf. I could not watch the semi-finals since I was in Germany and was either out to dinner or on the flight back home when they were held. However I knew that Malta did not qualify :(. Although I now know that the Maltese entry was number 11 in our semifinal, just one point behind the number 10 position which got in. The Eurovision song contest is not something you can enjoy on your own so I got an invite (or asked for one myself?? :P) to go to Zahra’s house for dinner and then watching the Eurovision song contest via live streaming on the Eurovision website. Although Zahra and Ali are from Iran, they know all about the Eurovision, and know most (if not all) of the winning songs of Eurovision past.

Zahra was in the laboratory and so we walked over to her house together. On the way we stopped to buy some food to cook for dinner, and made our way home, where I helped her cook (salad, pizza and pasta). I am always amazed at how Zahra can get the simplest ingredients and transform them into a mouth-watering dish. By the time food was ready and we had eaten, the Eurovision was about to start and so we switched on the live streaming and sat down to enjoy. The conversation flowed throughout the show. In particular we found out that we use the same sounds to mean things in Persian and Maltese, which are commonly different to the Irish and other people.

I particularly liked the show this year (maybe the company?). I thought the opening act of the ‘remixed’ Satellite song was quite a good start, and the presenters were not as stilted as they usually are. Then it was time for the songs. I think they were of a not too bad standard this year, especially compared to other years, and I enjoyed most of them, even if some were not Eurovision material. I only really disliked the Moldovan song. Our favourite to win the competition was unanimously Azerbaijan. But we also would have liked Ireland to win :), just because Malta (and obviously Iran) were not in the final, so Ireland is a good alternative to support. I think that Jedward are not the best singers around, but they are good entertainers…would love to do something similar with my twin sister too (shall we Ann?), though we will probably end up killing each other :).

The points started to be called out. We were pretty disappointed when Sweden was winning, as we did not particularly like the song…I think I could somehow do that song. But things changed during the second half of the voting, when Azerbaijan started to edge ahead. We also cheered when Ireland got one of the top 3 points :). The standard of the contest this year I think shows in how close the points at the top of the table were. It has happened where the winner is winning by a mile. I was also proud with the Maltese voting…we gave 8 points to Ireland (Yeah) and 12 points to Azerbaijan. I also think that Kelly Schembri was a good choice for reading out the votes. Countries are no longer sending fuddy duddy newscasters to read the votes. I think it is only in Turkey that an ‘older person’ read the votes. Or maybe I am biased cos she was a class mate of mine in primary school.

Overall, a successful Eurovision. Thank you Zahra for having me over and well done to Azerbaijan (oh the expense for all the people travelling there next year 🙂 ). And by the way bel tornata Italy…a good show 🙂

Actions

Information

9 responses

15 05 2011
Pooyan Jamshidi

Cecilia, you’re really a good writer, congratulations! 🙂

15 05 2011
zahra

We also enjoyed your company Cecilia, it was fun. Cant find ice-cream here 😉

15 05 2011
ceciliafenech

Oops sorry…the ice cream was DIVINE!!!…With just some toffee ice cream she added cold milk with coffee and a sprinkling of chocolate on top…and it was a top class ice cream…MMMMM

15 05 2011
annmucc

Hehe – we would probably kill each other…unless we waste all our energy on set as they seem to do!
I’m curious though! What sounds are similar in Persian and Maltese?

15 05 2011
ceciliafenech

It is sounds such as boqq, ahh, ntk (the sound we use to mean no when we click our toungue)

15 05 2011
annmucc

Hehe OK :). Like how you wrote ‘ntk’ 😛

15 05 2011
gelle

I think we saw what it would look like if “Anncilia” (or Cann?) became a reality. It would look like what we saw when we were doing sing-star at Mikkel’s place in Copenhagen. “Baaaack to blaaa-aaack”
It was great entertainment – and on key – but I’m not sure we should submit the people of the world to it. 😉

15 05 2011
ceciliafenech

Well Jedward are entertainers and not the best singers I guess…so we should do well 🙂

15 05 2011
annmucc

Gooooo USSSSS!

Leave a Reply

