Freebies :)

15 06 2011

Ross’ time as a guest blogger is now over (though he is welcome back any time 🙂 ), so unfortunately you are now again stuck with my ramblings. After coming back from Malta, I have been trying to get some work done on my PhD. However I am still finding some time to have fun. In particular during the past week were 2 freebies. And you know how I like my freebies, so a happy person was I.

First up was a trip to Taste of Dublin last Sunday. I won the tickets through the menupages.ie facebook page. I did not get the tickets in the beginning :(. Luckily for me, some people did not reply back to the email telling them they had won the tickets, so they redistributed the tickets, and WIPPIE, I got 2 tickets to Taste of Dublin. I asked around in my lab, and David took me up on the offer, so Sunday afternoon saw us heading to Iveagh gardens where the event was being held. The weather was not too favourable. The rain had luckily stopped by the time we made it there, but the place, being outside was all muddy. Oh well, we still had a good time going round the different stands and tasting some of the food on offer.

My only possible complaint about the event is perhaps the price of the event (I did not have to pay, but this i what would hold me back next time). Entry to the event is €25 for advance bought tickets (this is the part I got for free). However once you enter the event you still have to pay for most of the foods (you get some samples for free), though most were quite reasonably priced in my opinion. Unfortunately I could not stay too long, so I left David enjoying the evening at the event, whilst I headed to the end of year Pizza BBQ by the OLV young adult group, since during the months of July and August no Sunday 6:30pm Gospel Mass is said, so we met at the Parish Priest’s house for some pizza, drink and an overall good time.

The next freebie was 2 tickets to a preview of the Bridesmaids movie. I got the tickets through the seefilmfirst website. I have been registered on this website since I moved to Ireland, but this is only the second time I received an ‘invitation’, and the first time I actually went. My accompanying partner this time was Ross. We left Uni and made our way to the Liffey Valley Shopping Centre where the cinema was. After a slight detour (to see the sights heqqq hmmm) we arrived at the shopping centre in time to have some dinner, followed by an ice cream at Ben & Jerry’s (MMMMMMM) and then made our way to the cinema. The cinema was completely full (the last 2 people who came in used up the last 2 seats in the cinema…they could not even sit next to each other). But we managed to get relatively good seats I must say.

The film was really funny, and the atmosphere in the cinema was great. We all laughed, gasped and enjoyed the movie together. In some scenes it was pretty disturbing I must say (hence the 16 rating hihi). But I haven’t laughed as much in quite some time. Overall the acting is not that impressive, especially of the Bride. But it does not detract from the story. I loved the actress playing the groom’s sister. I would definitely suggest it for anyone to see.

Those were all my freebies for now 🙂 Have a good week and hope you are happy to have me back writing instead of Ross 😛

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

